The Singapore Rugby Union (SRU) has named both the Men and Women squads that will travel to Hong Kong to compete in the first leg of the Asia Rugby Sevens Series 2016 from 2-3rd September 2016. After achieving silver medals at the South East Asian 7s and the bronze (men) and silver (women) medals at the 28th SEA Games, Team Singapore will be aiming to pit their skills against the best of Asia Rugby. The Asia Rugby Sevens Series 2016 is the top rugby sevens competition in Asia organized by Asia Rugby. The tournament consists of three legs – Hong Kong (2-3rd September), Korea (25-25th September) and Sri Lanka (15-16th October). The total points accumulated at the end of the three legs will determine our new ranking in Asia.

Singapore’s Men and Women are currently ranked 8th and 6th in Asia respectively and will be targeting to improve on our rankings this year. Singapore’s Men are in Pool A with Japan, South Korea and China while Singapore’s Women are in Pool C with Japan, Hong Kong and Guam.

The Mens Team will be led by new captain, Marah Ishraf along with Alvinia Ow Yong leading the Womens Team. Marah has rose to become a key member of the Mens Team since his debut in 2013. Both captains were instrumental in the 2015 SEA Games campaigns and will be leading out sides with some new faces mixed with seasoned veterans. Nicholas Yau was a standout last season and will be looking to recapture that form in 2016. Lee Han Ni will be making her debut on the series having been a former netballer and has been impressive since being talent spotted during the “X – code” programme

General Manager of Singapore Rugby Union, Mr George Danapal said, “Singapore Rugby Union has stepped up our rugby sevens programme since 2015. We have seen younger players coming through to the national team from our ASEAN University Games squad and Women’s X-code programme. The Asia Rugby Sevens Series will provide quality-playing experience for our athletes at the elite level. We hope these opportunities to play against the best of Asia will help prepare us for the 2017 SEA Games 2017 campaign.”

Follow the progress of Team Singapore on the link below:


Singapore Men 7s Team List

S/No Given Name
1 Marah Moehammad Ishraf Bin Marah Moehammad Hoessein
2 Ruzaini Bin Mohamad
3 Muhammad Zaki Bin Mahmood
4 Sidney Kumar
5 Chow Kwok-Ho Daniel Marc
6 Bryan Ng Chung Jin
7 Nicholas Yau Yu Hong
8 Teng Chong Yao
9 Vighnesh Krishnan
10 Declan Martens Gregory Rowsing
11 Naresh Kunasegaran
12 Daryl Chia Wen Wei
Head Coach Mohammad Ismail Bin A Kadir
Physiotherapist Reginald Tang Chung Chun
Team Manager Muhammad Yazid Bin Rosli

Singapore Women 7s Team List


Given Name
1 Chan Jia Yu
2 Chu Jia Hui, Eunice
3 Lee Han Ni
4 Eng Yan Ran, Vivian
5 Lai Pui San
6 Ong Pei Yi
7 Ow Yong Yu Xiu, Alvinia
8 Sim Chiew Hong
9 Teo Ming Li, Samantha
10 Woo Xue Ni, Annabel Bernadette
11 Chong Hui Min
12 Lee Mee, Christabelle
Head Coach Wang Shao Ing
Physiotherapist Tan Xiu Cheng, Sarah
Team Manager

Liu YongCai, Bob